Wednesday, May 29, 2019


Hi everyone,

I'm delighted to make a splash with this GREAT NEWS.....I've signed another 2 Book Deal with Hachette!!!

Roll on lots of lovely words in the future...... 

Cover reveal for my new novel THE HIDING GAME to follow.....Watch this space!


Tuesday, May 21, 2019

The Shortlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, has been announced!!


Belinda Bauer - Snap
Steve Cavanagh - Thirteen
Mick Herron - London Rules
Val McDermid - Broken Ground
Liam McIlvanney - The Quaker
Khurrum Rahman - East of Hounslow

The prize, now in its 15th year, was created to celebrate the very best in crime fiction.

Belinda Bauer, a previous winner of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, is shortlisted with her 2018 Man Booker longlisted, Snap, which is inspired by the murder of a pregnant woman, Marie Wilks, on the M50 in 1988. The judges described it as “an acute, stylish, intelligent novel about how we survive trauma.”

Thirteen, by Steve Cavanagh, hailed by Ian Rankin for “plotting that takes the breath away.” Thirteen offers an original twist on the courtroom thriller, where the serial killer isn’t on trial - he’s on the jury.

London Rules
Mick Herron’s widely acclaimed Jackson Lamb novels have been shortlisted twice for the Crime Novel of the Year. London Rules is the fifth outing for the band of spies with the backdrop of Brexit Britain and a terror plot.

Broken Ground
This Karen Pirie thriller by Val McDermid, digs up a secret buried for 70 years in a Highland peat bog and has been praised for its ‘masterly handling of pace and plot.’

The Quaker
The Quaker by Liam McIllvanney is set in Glasgow in 1969 drawing on the real-life, never-caught serial murderer Bible John.

East of Hounslow
This is Khurrum Rahman first novel. East of Hounslow follows Jay, who ends up working undercover for MI5 while undergoing radical Islamist training.

The overall winner will be decided by the panel of Judges, alongside a public vote. The public vote opens on July 1 and closes July 14 at www.theakstons.co.uk.

Executive director of T&R Theakston, Simon Theakston, said: “All shortlisted authors are deserving of the title, but there’s only one Novel of the Year. The public vote will be invaluable, readers have real power, so I’d encourage everyone to make their voice heard - it’s free and simple to vote online. It will be fascinating to see which of these remarkable titles prevails, all are simply outstanding.”

The winner is announced on the opening night of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, on July 18, 2019
The winner will receive a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakston Old Peculier.

The Hiding Game by Louise Phillips - Cover Reveal to follow!!

I was out walking in lovely Greystones over the weekend, and this view reminded me of the beautiful cover of my upcoming novel, THE HIDING GAME.....

Watch this space for full cover reveal shortly!! #ocean #alone #danger #thehidinggame

Thursday, May 2, 2019

Edgar Award Winners 2019!

The Edgar Award Winners and Nominees 2019 has been released. Congrats to all the Nominees & Winners!!

Best Novel


The Liar’s Girl
 by Catherine Ryan Howard (Blackstone Publishing)
House Witness by Mike Lawson (Grove Atlantic – Atlantic Monthly Press)
A Gambler’s Jury by Victor Methos (Amazon Publishing – Thomas & Mercer)
Down the River Unto the Sea by Walter Mosley (Hachette Book Group – Mulholland)
Only to Sleep by Lawrence Osborne(Penguin Random House – Hogarth)
A Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn (Penguin Random House – Berkley)
Winner: Down the River Unto the Sea by Walter Mosley (Hachette Book Group – Mulholland)

Best First Novel


A Knife in the Fog
 by Bradley Harper (Seventh Street Books)
The Captives by Debra Jo Immergut (HarperCollins Publishers – Ecco)
The Last Equation of Isaac Severy by Nova Jacobs (Simon & Schuster – Touchstone)
Bearskin by James A. McLaughlin (HarperCollins Publishers – Ecco)
Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens (Penguin Random House – G.P. Putnam’s Sons)
Winner: Bearskin by James A. McLaughlin (HarperCollins Publishers – Ecco)

Best Paperback Original


If I Die Tonight
 by Alison Gaylin (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow)
Hiroshima Boy by Naomi Hirahara (Prospect Park Books)
Under a Dark Sky by Lori Rader-Day (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow)
The Perfect Nanny by Leila Slimani(Penguin Random House – Penguin Books)
Under My Skin by Lisa Unger (Harlequin – Park Row Books
Winner: If I Die Tonight by Alison Gaylin (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow)

Best Fact Crime


Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation
by Robert W. Fieseler (W.W. Norton & Company – Liveright)

Sex Money Murder: A Story of Crack, Blood, and Betrayalby Jonathan Green (W.W. Norton & Company)
The Last Wild Men of Borneo: A True Story of Death and Treasure
by Carl Hoffman (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow)
The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
by Kirk Wallace Johnson (Penguin Random House – Viking)
I’ll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman’s Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killerby Michelle McNamara (HarperCollins Publishers – Harper)
The Good Mothers: The True Story of the Women Who Took on the World’s Most Powerful Mafia
by Alex Perry (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow)
Winner: Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation

Best Critical/Biographical


The Metaphysical Mysteries of G.K. Chesterton: A Critical Study of the Father Brown Stories and Other Detective Fiction
by Laird R. Blackwell (McFarland Publishing)
Dead Girls: Essays on Surviving an American Obsession
by Alice Bolin (HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow Paperbacks)
Classic American Crime Fiction of the 1920s 
by Leslie S. Klinger (Pegasus Books)

Mark X: Who Killed Huck Finn’s Father? by Yasuhiro Takeuchi (Taylor & Francis – Routledge)
Agatha Christie: A Mysterious Life by Laura Thompson (Pegasus Books)
Winner: Classic American Crime Fiction of the 1920s 

Mary Higgins Clark

A Death of No Importance by Mariah Fredericks (Minotaur Books)
A Lady’s Guide to Etiquette and Murder by Dianne Freeman (Kensington Publishing)
Bone on Bone by Julia Keller (Minotaur Books)
The Widows of Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey (Soho Press – Soho Crime)A Borrowing of Bones by Paula Munier(Minotaur Books)
Winner: The Widows of Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey (Soho Press – Soho Crime)
For details of all categories visit HERE
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...