test

Monday, September 22, 2014

Douglas Hutton Artist


I met the wonderful artist Douglas Hutton on my first visit to the Tyrone Guthrie Artist Retreat at Annaghmakerrig. 

Douglas very kindly gifted me this painting 'Shoreline' because of LAST KISS, both having their tangled layers. I'm afraid my photography does not do it justice, but it is now one of my most treasured possessions.

You can view Douglas's work HERE

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Crime Fiction Hits Culture Night at the IWC!!





CRIME FICTION hit Culture Night at the Irish Writers' Centre with a bang. Readings from mise, Patricia Gibney, Niamh Brennan, Susan Condon, Carolann Copeland, Tara Sparling, Jackie Walsh, Trish Kean Nugent and Darren Darker.....over 250 guests and overall a great success!!

Friday, September 19, 2014

CRIME MEETS CHICK-LIT!





I'll be joining bestselling women's fiction authors, Marisa Mackle,  Caroline Grace-Cassidy and Caroline Finnerty on Sat, Oct 11th for the Write A Bestseller full day seminar at the Tara Towers Hotel (opposite Booterstown DART station).. email me via the website www.louise-phillips.com if you need further information!


Thursday, September 18, 2014

Goldilocks and the Three Bears!!!

So excited about bringing our granddaughter to this!!!!

Book early to avoid disappointment.....HERE

19th October at 2.30.....


The Jonathan Swift Award 2014!





Closing date 30th of September 2014.

Entries may be in Irish or English with three poems for €10 or €4 for a single poem, so well worth the effort. 

There is a prose section restricted to one entry with an entry fee of €5 and a maximum length of 1500 words. 

Poems should not exceed 45 lines and fees made payable to "Jonathan Swift Creative Writing Awards".

The judge is the award winning Catalan/Tallaght author Maria Wallace and her decision is final. 

Winners will be notified seven days in advance and must be prepared to read their work if possible at the award ceremony on Saturday the 1st of November at the Heritage centre in Saggart Co. Dublin. 

Entries should not have been previously published or broadcast and they must be typed in plain font Times Roman point 12 single spacing, without decoration or illustration. 

The entrants name must not appear on the typescript but only on the entry form. 

Must be the author's original work.

Send to : Margaret Ennis "Teach Guise",
              Boherboy, Saggart, Co. Dublin. 

My Desert Island Books - Metro Herald!


Wednesday, September 17, 2014

LAST KISS - Media, author and online sites reviews to date!!

Firstly, a big thank you to everyone who has reviewed LAST KISS to date on Amazon, Goodreads or any other book related site. I have been overwhelmed by how well the novel has been received, so please keep reviewing. 

I've listed below some feedback to date, and again, many thanks!!!



“Louise Phillips takes you on a journey to the dark side with a story that is as fast-paced and thrilling as a rollercoaster.”
Jane Casey

“A dark and terrifying psychological thriller that grips you from the start and doesn't let you go until the very last line.“
Virginia Gilbert

"Louise Phillips goes from strength to strength.... Last Kiss is superior and takes her writing to another, more intense level. The pace is excellent, the characters familiar and new, well drawn and believable.....flows well and airs skilfully some of the disturbing themes laid bare in Ireland in recent years...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED."
Irish IndependentREAD FULL ARTICLE HERE

“There are very few books that I couldn’t put down, but LAST KISS was different. Sex, power, greed and evil combine to a satisfying chilling yet enthralling read that had me turning around to see if I was home alone….”
Woman’s Way

“My God, what a book. I just couldn’t put it down. This is a book YOU MUST READ – Fantastic…”
Sunshine Radio

"Phillips is superb at suspense, at conjuring up a dark menacing atmosphere, but her underlying humanity stops it from becoming too bleak..."
Sunday IndependentREAD FULL ARTICLE HERE

“A deliciously dark thriller that leaves a bitter aftertaste, like a great dark chocolate or superior claret. The writing is truly spectacular…I didn’t think the author could get much better…she is set for great, great things….Top notch crime thriller which deserves its place at the top of bestseller lists, not just in Ireland, but worldwide.”
Writing.ie

“LAST KISS is the best one yet...loved this. You are immediately sucked in. Once you start reading, you have to keep going. Phillips deserves to be known well beyond these shores. This is not just an Irish Crime Thriller-it’s among the best crime writing in the world- top notch thriller."
BBC Radio Ulster

"The blend of first and third-person narratives gives the story great pace...Phillips is exploring the dark matter of damaged sexual identity…. the abiding impression is of the empathy Phillips evokes on behalf of her lethal but fragile anti-heroine."
Irish TimesREAD FULL ARTICLE HERE

“This book is superb! A chilling and original storyline about nature versus nurture, it has you hooked right from the very first page - It has an ending that you just can't see coming, even if you do manage to work out who the killer is. Highly Recommended” 

Eurocrime

“I can certainly validate that Phillips is an equal to James Patterson, Sara Paretsky, Patricia Cornwell or any other authors of cracking good police procedurals…”
By the Book Reviews

“I couldn't put Last Kiss down…It was dark, it was deep, it was scary, it chilled me to the bone. It was brilliant!”
Kim the Bookworm

“I loved both the previous books in this series…and this book easily matches…and maybe even surpasses them in terms of the depth and complexity of the plot. This is a dark book with the inclusion of the S&M and Tarot cards so that when the killer and their motives are unmasked, it left me with a feeling as if this were all somehow more than just fiction.”
Cleopatra Loves Books

“The fact the killer is female adds to the novel, it’s unusual for a woman to be so brutal and as she shares her thought processes with us, it almost feels like we are waiting to be discovered too even though we’re also in the dark - very clever - a well written, clever and dark novel - enjoy.”
Irish Farmerette

The only problem we are left with is what to read next. Last Kiss is impossible to follow and is Phillips best novel so far.”
Carousel Creates 

“This is a page turning, gut wrenching thriller which will undoubtedly earn Phillips further accolades and hordes of new fans. This book will appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah, Arlene Hunt, Erin Kelly and Claire McGowan.”
Lisa Reads Books


"I was holding my breath – Last Kiss is a brilliant,dark,deep,scary,chilled to the bone novel-superb!"
Siren FM


"It’s dark, devious and totally gripping with interesting and engaging central characters, a good use of the contrasting locations, and more slippery than an eel covered in Vaseline. Thanks to Phillips for restoring my faith in the psychological thriller and in some style!"
Raven Crime Read

“This is Louise Phillips third crime fiction novel and I believe it may be her best…The narrative is strong, very strong. A combination of love and hate, desire and disgust, murder and malice, the tension so well described that I felt myself wanting to shout " look behind you…cannot recommend enough”

Bleach House Library

“(Last Kiss) I became totally caught up in it to the extent of a couple of late nights when I didn’t want to stop reading, wanting to learn more about the killer and to understand the whys and wherefores of the elaborate crime, with twists and tensions building up the history..”
Landing Tales

This is Louise Phillips's third novel - amazing, definitely her best one yet. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I couldn't wait to find out what was going to be on the following pages, devouring it. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes psychological thrillers; a well-crafted book that takes you on a thrilling journey, full of twists and turns.”
Celeste Loves Books

Monday, September 15, 2014

RED LINE BOOK FESTIVAL 14th - 19th October!!!



This festival has been going from strength to strength, and indeed, has been shortlisted in the 2014 Chambers of Ireland Award for Excellence in Local Government. It's a terrific festival with lots happening, so check out the full programme HERE 

Last year I took part in Lady Killers at the Civic Theatre in Tallaght with Alex Barclay, Arlene Hunt, Joanne Richardson and Susan Condon, and it was a great night.

The festival kicks off on Tuesday the 16th September with a pre-festival coffee morning, and I'm delighted to be a guest speaker at the event. I'll be talking about the importance of libraries and the literary and cultural vibrancy in South Dublin, along with a short reading from LAST KISS......

I hope many of you take part in the festival this year, and make it another memorable year!!

Friday, September 12, 2014

WRITE THAT NOVEL!!


 

8 Week Novel Writing Workshop at Carousel Creates

with Award Winning Crime Writer

Louise Phillips


7pm - 9 pm


•Get started on your novel or continue it on the right foot

•Develop your cast of characters

•Explore plot V story

•Learn how to outline - including mind maps

•Also - how to create effective dialogue

•Get a strong understanding of character & story arch
  
•Cement your narrative voice

•Examine points of view

•Explore the Novel Setting  & the World of your Story

•Receive editorial critique of your work


(Special Price until 26th September. After which price will revert to €140.00)



For Booking Contact Details

Phone: +353861923613

Write to us at:

Carousel Writers' Centre
'Aisling na Smól'
Killakee Rd. Killakee.
Rathfarnham, Dublin 16.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...