Thursday, April 14, 2011

Hennessy Literary Awards 2011 - Winning Stories & Poems

Firstly huge congratulations to all the winners of the Hennessy Awards 2011.  The Hennessy Awards in Ireland are like the Oscars of the Literary World, and from this point onwards all of the winners will be referred to as Hennessy Winners!

Later in the month I will be doing an interview with the wonderful Eileen Casey, winner of the Emerging Fiction Award, so keep a look out for that.

But if like me yesterday, you are keen to read the winning entries, here are some links to each of them. 

First Fiction Winner Siobhán Mannion with her story 'Lighting Bugs' can be read HERE

Emerging Fiction Winner Eileen Casey with her story 'Macaw' can be read HERE

Emerging Poetry Winner Afric McGlinchy two poems 'Do not lie to a lover' & 'Under the heart, a horseshoe shape' can be read HERE

The overall New Irish Writer 2011 Award went to Siobhán Mannion, and the Hennessy Hall of Fame Award went to the wonderful Sebastian Barry.


  1. Thanks for the links. Great set of winners. What's the collective noun for winners? A podium?

  2. Hi,
    I just did a search for the awards 2011 and your page was the one with the best info! So glad I found you on Twitter as your blog is right up my street!!


  3. Thanks Michelle - glad you are following!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...